Review: Soundless by Richelle Mead

Posted October 13, 2016 by Stephanie in 4 Stars, Fantasy, Review, Richelle Mead, Soundless, Young Adult / 14 Comments

Title: Soundless
Author: Richelle Mead
Publication: November 12th 2015 by Puffin

Genre: Young Adult ~ Fantasy
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Google Play | Kobo
Rating: 4/5


For as long as Fei can remember, there has been no sound in her village. Her people are at the mercy of a mysterious faraway kingdom, which delivers food in return for precious metals mined from the treacherous cliffs surrounding them.

When villagers begin to lose their sight, their rations shrink and many go hungry. Fei’s home, the boy she loves, and her entire existence is plunged into crisis, under threat of darkness and starvation.

Then Fei is awoken in the night by a searing noise, and sound becomes her weapon . . .

Perfect for readers of THE HUNGER GAMES, this epic fantasy from the international bestselling author of VAMPIRE ACADEMY will have you instantly hooked and on the edge of your seats.

I know a lot of people disliked Soundless but I ended up really liking it, which was a huge surprise to me. I thought this was just such a unique story and Fei was a great heroine, in my opinion. It’s definitely another favorite book of mine now by Richelle Mead.


This wasn’t a very long book but I didn’t feel like it took away much from the world and character building. I also thought the writing was really good and the setting was just beautiful. And like I said I thought Fei was a great heroine. I loved her protectiveness to her sister and how she was willing to do anything for her, even go down the mountain.

I also loved the unique story about a village where everyone can’t hear and where some people even are starting to lose their vision. I just wanted to know what caused this and how Fei fit into it all, once she suddenly started getting her hearing back.


The romance was also really well done. I loved that Fei and Li Wei had some history together, which always is a plus. I was really rooting for them. 


I really wouldn’t mind more books in this world because I just loved it. It doesn’t have to be necessarily about Fei, although I wouldn’t mind that. There’s so much more potential with this world.

       About the Author:

       Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads


Richelle Mead has written over twenty-five novels for teens and adults. She is the author of the international #1 bestselling Vampire Academy series and its spinoff series, Bloodlines. Her recent standalone novel, Soundless, draws upon Chinese mythology and history, and her forthcoming series, The Glittering Court, follows the adventures of girls destined for arranged marriages in a fantasy world inspired by colonial America. A lifelong reader, Richelle has always had a particular fascination with mythology and folklore. When she can actually tear herself away from books (either reading or writing them), she enjoys bad reality TV, traveling, trying interesting cocktails, and shopping for dresses to wear on tour. She is a self-professed coffee addict, works in her pajamas, and has a passion for all things wacky and humorous. Originally from Michigan, Richelle now lives in Seattle, Washington, where she is hard at work on her next novel.

14 responses to “Review: Soundless by Richelle Mead

    • LilyElement, I'm a huge advocate for this book. It's one of the rare books where I get angry when people say they don't like it. I'm genuinely confused. I'm like, "well, what is wrong with you?" I know people have different tastes, but Soundless is an exception to that rule. It's simply excellent. End of argument. Lol.

  1. Cool, I'm glad you liked this one! I thought it was okay but I didn't really love it. It was my first Mead book and given all the hype surrounding the author's previous books, I was disappointed. I think my expectations were too high. πŸ˜€ But it was an interesting read!

    Wonderful review, Stephanie. =)

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

  2. Oh you gave it 2 more stars than I did, haha. I'm glad it worked out for you! I really didn't like it so much and thought it was mostly boring … some scenes were okay and at times I did enjoy it but overall it's just not as good as her other books – I was disappointed because I know she can do better. Oh well.

  3. Well, what other people thought doesn't really matter in the end if you liked it! I am glad you could enjoy this one and I hope you'll be able to enjoy the sequel if there will be one. The world sounds pretty cool and magical πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)