Can’t-Wait Wednesday: Fatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell All

Posted April 25, 2018 by Stephanie in can't-wait wednesday / 18 Comments

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and talk about the books we’re excited about that we have yet to read. It’s based on Waiting On Wednesday hosted at Breaking the Spine.

Fatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell All by Candace Flemish, M.T. Anderson, Stephanie Hemphill, Lisa Ann Sandell, Jennifer Donnely, Linda Sue Park and Deborah Hopkinson
Expected publication: May 1st 2018 by Schwartz & Wade


The tragic lives of Henry VIII and his six wives are reimagined by seven acclaimed and bestselling authors in this riveting novel, perfect for fans of Wolf Hall and Netflix’s The Crown.

He was King Henry VIII, a charismatic and extravagant ruler obsessed with both his power as king and with siring a male heir.

They were his queens–six ill-fated women, each bound for divorce, or beheading, or death.

Watch spellbound as each of Henry’s wives attempts to survive their unpredictable king and his power-hungry court. See the sword flash as fiery Anne Boleyn is beheaded for adultery. Follow Jane Seymour as she rises from bullied court maiden to beloved queen, only to die after giving birth. Feel Catherine Howard’s terror as old lovers resurface and whisper vicious rumors to Henry’s influential advisors. Experience the heartache of mothers as they lose son after son, heir after heir.

Told in stirring first-person accounts, Fatal Throne is at once provocative and heartbreaking, an epic tale that is also an intimate look at the royalty of the most perilous times in English history.

Who’s Who:

* M. T. Anderson – Henry VIII
* Candace Fleming – Katharine of Aragon
* Stephanie Hemphill – Anne Boleyn
* Lisa Ann Sandell – Jane Seymour
* Jennifer Donnelly – Anna of Cleves
* Linda Sue Park – Catherine Howard
* Deborah Hopkinson – Kateryn Parr





I saw this book on Goodreads the other day and immediately knew that I want to read it. I love Tudor history and it sounds like a really  unique sort of anthology. 


18 responses to “Can’t-Wait Wednesday: Fatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell All

  1. I have been wanting to watch The Crown and I still haven't gotten to it yet. I am always fascinated by stories of Henry VIII and his life. It is so surreal. I hope that you love this one! πŸ™‚

  2. Man, I hated Henry and what he did to his wives. I mean, I get that he's wonderful to weave stories around but I pitied the women caught up in his webs

  3. YES! This one definitely sounds like a fascinating read, I really hope you love it πŸ˜€ I'll have to add it to my list as well!

  4. This book sounds amazing! I still need to watch Wolf Hall but I love The Crown (and The Tudors)! I hope you'll enjoy this one!

  5. This sounds interesting! I always get intrigued by such stories! I want to watch The Crown as well!
    I don't have WoW this week because I just started blogging after a hiatus, so its a comeback and reading slump tips post.
    My New Post

  6. This sounds highly compelling, but also heartbreaking….I have HATED Henry VIII for years, and I never met the guy! Lol. From what I have read about him, he was the epitome of the male chauvinist PIG. I feel sorry for all of these women.

    Hope you enjoy it, Steph! HUGS!! <3 <3 <3 πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  7. I have this one on my TBR! I have seen so many positive book reviews for this one and I am all about the history story told from a different perspective. I'm actually so excited to read this one!!

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)