Can’t-Wait Wednesday: Extasia by Claire Legrand

Posted August 4, 2021 by Stephanie in can't-wait wednesday / 14 Comments

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and talk about the books we’re excited about that we have yet to read.

 

Extasia by Claire Legrand
Expected publication: February 22nd 2022 by Katherine Tegen Books

A standalone horror novel for fans of The Grace YearThe Handmaid’s Tale, Courtney Summers, and Shirley Jackson.

My name is unimportant.

All you must know is that today I become one of the four saints of Haven. The elders will mark me and place the red hood on my head. They will give me my true name, and with my sisters I will stand against the evil power that lives beneath the black mountain—an evil which has already killed nine of our village’s men.

I will tell no one of the white-eyed beasts that follow me. Or the faceless gray women tall as houses. Or the girls I saw kissing in the elm grove.

Today I become a saint of Haven. I will rid my family of my mother’s shame at last and save my people from destruction. I am not afraid.

Are you?

From New York Times bestselling author Claire Legrand comes an emotionally searing and lyrically written novel that beckons readers to follow its powerful heroine into a world filled with secrets and blood—where the truth is buried in lies, and a devastating power waits, seething, for someone brave enough to use it.

First of all, I LOVE Claire Legrand’s books so I will read literally anything she writes. Second, how amazing does that synopsis sound?! And I’ve also seen this description of it, which makes it sound equally incredible:

In a postapocalyptic world, sixteen-year-old Saint Amity joins a coven and sets out on a quest to summon the Devil in order to protect her village, which is controlled by group of pious elders.

Soooo it next year yet? Because wow… my 2022 book releases list is just growing and growing! 😍

 

 

14 responses to “Can’t-Wait Wednesday: Extasia by Claire Legrand

  1. That’s a really spine-chilling cover! I’ve heard superb things about Claire Legrand, who I think has written both YA and MG fiction (?). Still, this is horror, so probably not my cup of tea.

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)